Skip to content

Congratulations Bill

    Chair of The Twyford Hall Complex Ltd, Frankie J Holden OAM, congratulates the former President of Twyford Hall Incorporated Bill Deveril OAM, who received notice of his Medal of the Order of Australia honour in this year’s King’s Birthday Honours list, for his service to the communities of Pambula and Merimbula.

    Bill has held a range of local volunteer committee roles including Club Captain of Pambula Surf Live Saving Club, 1965-1968 where he was made a Life Member in 1977. He was a Foundation Member of Pambula/Merimbula Golf Club from 1965 and was a Committee Member of Spectrum Theatre Group for 10 years including 5 years as President.

    Bill served as President of the Twyford Hall committees charged with the running and maintenance of Twyford Hall for nearly twenty years. In that time, he initiated and oversaw many improvements to this invaluable community asset.

    Along with another civic minded local, John Stewart, Bill led a grass roots push to build a new theatre in Merimbula, one that would serve not only local community theatre groups but also provide a suitable contemporary venue for touring theatre companies, musical and comedy performances, public meetings and community events. Sadly, John Stewart passed away, but Bill’s tenacity and perseverance ensured that the project didn’t die. He succeeded John as Chairman of Twyford Hall and after 35 years of planning, co-ordinating, dreaming, and sometimes sheer bloody-mindedness, their dream is about to come true.

    Local citizens rallied and various funding opportunities and much political lobbying were pursued resulting in an announcement in May 2018 that the NSW Government would fund the project with a grant of $7,400,000, the estimated cost for the development.

    The Board of the Twyford Hall Complex Ltd continue the legacy of Bill’s work in preparing the theatre for opening and congratulate Bill on his award.

    Frankie J Holden OAM
    Board Chair
    The Twyford Hall Complex Ltd
    12 June 2023